Thank you for your interest in working at Special Olympics Great Britain. 

Volunteer Opportunity 

The 15th Special Olympics World Summer Games are taking place on 14 – 21 March 2019 at Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

Please click on the links below for further details concerning the event and take note that the closing date for application are listed below:  

All completed applications must be emailed to Naazmi.Johnston@sogb.org.uk and received by the dates below:      

  • Head of Delegation & Assistant Head of Delegation - Closed
  • Head Coach - 12 noon on Tuesday 29 August 2017
  • Coach - 12 noon on Monday 30 October 2017

Head Coach Interview Dates (Via an online video conference):

  • 6.00pm-9.00pm Monday 18 September 2017
  • 6.00pm-9.00pm Tuesday 19 September 2017
  • 10.00am-4.00pm Saturday 23 September 2017
  • 10.00am-4.00pm Sunday 24 September 2017
  • (Notification of appointment: Monday 9 October - Friday 13 October 2017)

 

Coach Interview Dates (Via an online video conference):

  • 6.00pm-9.00pm Monday 27 November 2017
  • 6.00pm-9.00pm Tuesday 28 November 2017
  • 10.00am-4.00pm Saturday 2 December 2017
  • 10.00am-4.00pm Sunday 3 December 2017
  • (Notification of appointment: Monday 8 January - Friday 12 January 2018)

 

The following timeline shows the provisional dates for training weekends as well as the Games and all applicants must note that a condition of being selected as part of the GB Team is your attendance at the relevant dates below

Dates(1)

Activity

Friday 17 November - Sunday 19 November 2017

Head Coach Training Weekend

Friday 2 March - Sunday 4 March 2018

GB Team Volunteers Training Weekend

Friday 11 May - Sunday 13 May 2018

1st GB Team Training Weekend

Friday 7 September - Sunday 9 September 2018

Friday 14 September - Sunday 16 September 2018

Friday 21 September - Sunday 23 September 2018

1st Squad Training Weekends (sports squads will only need to attend one of the dates)

Friday 18 January - Sunday 20 January 2019

2nd GB Team Training Weekend

Friday 1 February - Sunday 3 February 2019

Friday 8 February - Sunday 10 February 2019

Friday 15 February - Sunday 17 February 2019

2nd Squad Training Weekends (sports squads will only need to attend one of the dates)

Wednesday 6 March 2019

GB Team to meet in London

Thursday 7 March 2019

GB Team to depart London

Friday 22 March 2019

GB Team to return back to the UK

Friday 28 June - Sunday 30 June 2019

GB Team Reunion

(1) All dates are provisional and are therefore subject to change

For any further information about this event, please contact Emily Onley.

Athletes

Do you want to play sports, at your own pace or level?

Volunteer

Share your time and skills to help transform our athletes live

Corporate Giving

Help us make a change. Join our Team!